Like A Good Neighbor…

Wilson From Home ImprovementI believe in karma. I also believe karma is a wonderful spiritual principle which doles out justice here on Earth.

For example, I believe my appendicitis, skin cancer, and intestinal surgery is payback for some of the things I’ve done. I also believe karma punished me with terrible millennial next door neighbors. I’ve posted about these douche nozzles before, but that is not the topic of this morning’s post. This morning’s post is about out newer new neighbors.

They moved in directly across the street from us a few months ago. The husband is African-American and the wife is Cambodian. They are both very polite, never host obnoxious drunken parties, and are beyond polite. The duo have spent the bulk of their time renovating their home, as the former neighbors were elderly and the house needed a few modern updates.

On Saturday, Mrs. Earp called me at work and said the neighbors were hosting a housewarming party, and we were invited. At first, my crippling anxiety/panic of social situations had me leaning toward “Not f**king happening,” but I also didn’t want to be the only a-hole neighbor who didn’t show. So Mrs. Earp bought a plant, we grabbed the family and headed to the party…

We had an fantastic time!

Wesley and Soso – that’s her nickname – are the most friendly, pleasant, accommodating people I have met in a long time. The party was held in the backyard, and it was a nice mix of both families. All of them wanted us to eat. Early and often.

While Wesley worked the barbecue – burgers, hot dogs, ribs, chicken, etc – Soso and her female relatives were inside whipping up native dishes. Spring rolls – I think I ate a good two dozen – curry chicken stew, spicy shredded salad, fresh fruit – including dragon fruit, which I did not try but looked interesting – and a ton of other delicacies.

Everything was delicious, and the Asian food tasted like burning. In a good way. I mean, I can handle extremely spicy food, but this was making my eyes bleed – again, in a good way.

While we talked with family members and watched Kevin and Julia play with the other kids, we realized both these people came from terrific families. Wesley’s son drove to the party, and when looking for a space, he asked my neighbor if it was okay to park in front of his house. Common courtesy goes a long way. (Hear that, millennial neighbors??)

We stayed for a few hours and before leaving Soso handed us an entire wok-full of Asian noodles with chicken and Chinese broccoli. It was, without exaggeration, the most delicious Asian dish I have ever enjoyed. I’m thinking of moving in with them.

7 thoughts on “Like A Good Neighbor…

  1. Glad you had a great time and made some wonderful new friends, it sounds like. As for the millennial neighbors, don’t waste your time. They aren’t about to change because it is always all about them, always and forever.

    Like

  2. Metoo – They’re completely self-centered people. They just had their first child, so I imagine that messed up bloodline will continue.

    Proof – No worries, I brought over the department’s body-sniffing dog. They’re clean. As a bonus, the wife is very easy on the eyes.

    Like

  3. You can be the house boy that cleans up when ya move in. Did you tell Ms. Earp she is easy on the eyes or that your neighbors wife is easy on the eyes? Sounds the like the beginning of the end for you my friend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

