Dissenting Adults

safe-spacesIn response to the concerns of their special little snowflakes, East Carolina University has implemented a class on “adulting.” In short, the program is meant to help college students become adults.

We’re through the retarded looking glass here, people.

ECU reported a 16 percent increase in student counseling appointments in the past two years. Those involving a crisis were up 52 percent, according to a July report that shocked officials on the Greenville, North Carolina, campus.

As a result, the college has boosted its counseling staff and resources and also introduced a new program — Recognition, Insight and Openness or RIO — to teach students self-talk, journaling, mindfulness and other cognitive-affective stress management techniques. RIO was adapted from a California Polytechnic State University workshop. (H/T – Jim F.)

When I was in college I had an hour commute every day, took electives like Shakespeare and Russian History, and was editor-in-chief of the university newspaper. There were no safe spaces at St. Joseph’s University, so I coped by crushing opponents on the lacrosse field and drinking beer. The fact a legitimate university is teaching its students how to become adults is both laughable and frightening.

6 thoughts on “Dissenting Adults

  1. Work. Not serving $10.00 coffee to the criminally ignorant but real world, deal with A-holes for wages, work. Mommy and daddy’s money making life cozy and free is not helping. I graduated with no debt and five years (it takes some of us longer) of work experience. No time for whimpering to mood music in some squishy “counselor’s” office.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mike – It took me about eight years to pay off my student loans, and I did it without (major) complaint. Times were tough the first three years out of college and before I entered the Academy, but I never once looked for a hand out.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Poor little snowflakes! I graduated in four years, worked every summer and during my junior and senior year, had 180 credit hours when I finished (120 required to graduate), and had $30 left in my bank account as I left Chapel Hill–enough for gas home and to tide me over until my first paycheck came in from my chef’s staff job at the Grove Park Inn; I am not sympathetic to these immature inadequate excuses for young adults.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. In the three years it took me to get on the force I worked at KFC – a very difficult, thankless job – Jiffy Lube, and White Glove Car Wash. It was hard, dirty work, but necessary to may my bills. I never considered lying around, defaulting on my loans and asking the government for help. Not once.

      Like

  4. Until parents “man up” and do their job, we’re going to keep seeing this kind of drivel. Kids should know at the time they graduate from high school that life’s not fair and no one but mom and dad really think you’re exceptional. Not everyone deserves a ribbon or trophy and not everyone deserves to win. My dad had a Kent Feed and John Deere implement business here in Iowa and once we kids hit 14, we all went to work at “the store”. I learned full-charge, double-entry bookkeeping. My brothers got their driving permits and one of our grandfathers rode with them and they delivered feed to the customers. On the weekends during the summer, we all drove out to the farm and baled hay. I am not certain what happened to the general work ethic of this country but everyone seems far too comfortable with a free ride these days and heaven forbid we should hurt someone’s feelings. Parents need to be parents or else look into sterilization.

    Like

Leave a Reply

