Eye Spy With My Holy Eye

eye-of-sauron

So yesterday I made my annual visit to my optometrist. My eye doctor is a good, thorough man, and I like him because he is very blunt with his analysis. When I told him I was having trouble reading with me glasses on, he said, “Well, you’re getting old.”

Yeah.

The doctor went through the usual examinations – vision, eye pressure, colonoscopy (okay, I made that one up) – and my vision regressed, but only slightly. My glasses/contact lens prescription was virtually the same, so I chalked the day up as a win. As I was getting ready to leave, the doctor says, “Oh, by the way, I noticed a tiny hole in your right eye. If you start to see any flashing light in your peripheral vision, come see me right away.”

Okay, no problem, thanks for the… wait… did you say a hole… in my eye?!!!

I erased the previous chalk, and chalked the day up as a draw. At best.

Apparently people who are nearsighted are susceptible to tears or holes forming in the eye. It may be nothing, but it may also lead to a cornea tear. The doctor said there is no underlying cause of it, but it may happen after head injuries, which I have not had in years. Apparently I’m just lucky when it comes to health matters.

Yep, cellulitis, skin cancer, two herniated discs, an appendectomy, twisted intestines, and a hole in the eye. I am the luckiest guy in the world.

10 thoughts on “Eye Spy With My Holy Eye

    1. After I had to have my second total knee replacement, Jon turned to me and said “The initial buy-in wasn’t bad but your upkeep is killing me!” I feel your pain, Wyatt.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

