Family Circus

Mr. New DadMrs. Earp is scheduled for jury duty today, and while I did get a kick out of her whining about going – since she always laughs when I have a court case downtown – I was not entirely thrilled with being Mr. Mom today.

You see, Mrs. Earp is a stay-at-home mom, and when she is not eating bon-bons and watching her stories, she actually works her ass off getting the kids up, fed, dressed, and off to school. Today I have to do all those things. On my day off.

Naturally, I suck ass at these things since I rarely have to organize them.

So, by the time you read this, one of two things have happened:

1. I actually woke up, got the kids dressed, fed, and off to school without a hitch, and I am currently putting up the outside Christmas lights before smoking a celebratory cigar.

2. I overslept, the kids overslept, no one wanted to eat OR get dressed, and I said screw it before calling them all out sick.

Honestly, it’s a 50/50 proposition. Wish me luck.

3 thoughts on “Family Circus

  1. So, obviously, Mr. Mom is not a title you aspire to any time soon. Good luck and I hope the day isn’t a total bust (or maybe I do and we will find you in your bunk).

    Like

  2. Hopefully more of the former. After all, if they’re not at school then you have them all day and won’t get any breaks.

    Honestly, as long as the house is still standing and you haven’t gained or lost a kid by the end of the day, I’d call that a win. Sometimes Steve can barely manage that with just one!

    Like

  3. Meetoo – This is the first free moment I have had all day. I stayed up waiting for the Broncos score – I an 13-2 in my office pool – so I am on five hours’ sleep. The kids got to school on time, fed, and dressed, although Julia tried to get into the car without her shoes. I got home and spent three hours putting up the outside Christmas lights and decorations. Stopped that for lunch and a shower, just in time to get Kyle from school. I came home, crashed on the sofa, and ate dinner. I took Kyle to lacrosse practice, and since the team was short players, I played for two hours.

    I am now utterly and completely exhausted.

    Jenn – Started the day with four kids, ended it with four kids. It’s a win.

    Like

Leave a Reply

