Whatever Does Not Float Their Boat

agent-scully-whateverAn annual Marist College poll has once again revealed the Most Annoying Word of the Year.

Ironically, the most annoying year with the most annoying election resulted in the most annoying word of all time.

It’s the most annoying (word) time of the year! Once again, “whatever” claims the title of most annoying word or phrase used in casual conversation.

“Whatever” irritates 38% of Americans followed by “no offense, but” with 20%. “You know, right” is irksome to 14% of residents nationally as is “I can’t even,” 14%. “Huge” grates on the nerves of 8% of Americans, and 5% are unsure.

Whatever is the most annoying word? Ugh, I can’t even… Oh, and by the way, it’s not “huge;” it’s “Yuge!”

6 thoughts on “Whatever Does Not Float Their Boat

  1. My contribution to most clever phrase quickly worn out and turned trite is “baked in”. As in, “Obama’s narcissism? It’s baked into his personality.”
    And please don’t tell me it’s already baked into our language. I know.

    Like

  2. The word that always ticked me off was issues. “I have issues with your attitude” Yeah I really got that line from a woman with serious “issues”.

    Like

  3. I hate the word offended. Some special snowflake being offended doesn’t change my opinion or for that matter; what is right and true; one iota. Piss off and be offended at somebody who cares.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

