You Streep What You Sow

hypocrisy-hollywood-signAfter accepting an award at the Golden Globes last night, actress Meryl Streep once again lectured America about the evils of Donald Trump.

In an explosive six-minute speech on Sunday night, Streep did not hold back as she went after Trump for mocking disabled reporter Serge Kovaleski in November of 2015 during a campaign rally.

“That instinct to humiliate, when it’s modeled by someone in a public platform, it filters down into everyone’s life because it gives permission for others to do the same,” said Streep in front of a audience packed full of Hollywood A-listers.

“Disrespect invites disrespect, violence incites violence. When the powerful use their position to bully others we all lose.”

Streep, of course, rambled on about disrespect while she was disrespecting Donald Trump, so apparently self-awareness is a rarity in Hollywood. I do enjoy the last line, however, since most of her co-conspirators have been using their powerful positions to bully voters and electors into denying Trump the presidency. A pox on all of them.

11 thoughts on “You Streep What You Sow

  1. I didn’t even watch last night. I knew it would be full of political statements and I just didn’t want to here their drivel. They aren’t saving lives like Dr. Ben Carson. They get handsomely paid for playing make believe day after day, for pete’s sake.

    Like

  2. I’d like to agree with Meryl for a change. When she mentioned that behavior modeled by someone in a public platform gives others permission to do so, I’m thinking it was probably a subliminal message about the Clinton Foundation, HilLIARy’s email server, Benghazi, Fast and Furious, Blow Job Billy, Racism at the Whitehouse, the War on Cops, the lack of responsibility shown by all the snowflakes in their safespace, and a host of other liberal bullshit that would take the rest of my life to list here. It was amusing to read your post. I just pointed out her hypocrisy elsewhere, right before I read things here. I do disagree with The Donald, she’s actually pretty good at playing make believe, but that’s probably about it. I’d bitch about her dissing football and the MMA, but I hate the NFL with a passion (but it’s because of their own liberal bullshit) and don’t watch MMA, so who am I to say? I’m just another deplorable. At least she hasn’t been seen at the controls of an NVA anti-aircraft gun like her fellow make believer, Hanoi Jane.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. At the podium stood Ms Streep,
    Who proved to the world she’s a creep.
    In giving her speech for the award
    The audience soon got bored,
    And so, one and all, they fell asleep.

    Like

  4. I never understood all the adulation that she gets. #1 – She’s pretty fugly. and #2 – She’s a lousy actress. She plays her parts the same in every movie whether comedy or drama. Not much emotion and weepy eyes. Kind of like Kristen Stewart plays all her parts the same except she uses a resting bitch face all the time instead of looking all weepy. Most of the character actresses in my beloved “B” sci-fi movies of the ’50s had more range than both of them combined. A lot better looking, too………..

    Like

  5. Metoo – I didn’t watch, either, but I had to sit through clips on the radio on my drive to work. Rants like these are why I rarely go to the movies anymore, and why my TiVo Season Passes are counted on one hand.

    RG – I heard ABC ran a promo of that show “Blackish” during one of the football games, and it was a “very special Donald Trump is a racist” episode. Apparently, the backlash from NFL fans was immense.

    Tam – I looked at her filmography at IMDB. The only work of hers I have ever seen in full is the Simpsons episode she guest starred in. I guess I cannot comment on her acting, but her activism annoys me.

    Like

    1. And if Meryl was raped, she’d probably try to figure out what she had done to cause the problem & what she’d need to do to keep it from happening again. Then she’d send the rapist a “thank you” note & testify on his behalf in court.

      Liked by 1 person

          1. She reminded me of an anthropological representation of a Cro Magnon woman. Looks like instead of Miss Helsinki she would fit in more as Missing Linki…………………

            Like

Leave a Reply

