A Great F**king Study

scarface-jacuzziBritish eggheads conducted a research study on swearing, and they concluded those who swear are more honest than those who do not. Wow, that’s f**king amazing.

Temperate language has traditionally been considered a social virtue, but new research suggests that people who refrain from swearing are often the most devious and dishonest.

Those fond of effing and blinding, by contrast, are likely to be the most honest in any given group, according to academics at the University of Cambridge.

Yeah, no sh*t, Sherlock. I could have f**king told you that!

Dr David Stillwell, one of the study’s authors, said the correlation may stem from the constraints imposed by social convention.

“If you’re trying to follow the social norms rather than saying what you think, you are saying what people want to hear,” he said. “In that respect you are not being very honest.”

Dr. Stillwell makes a valid point. Now, while I rarely swear at home – the incident with Julia notwithstanding – I swear like a sailor in work. My supervisors and coworkers know I’m a potty mouth, but they also know I will tell them exactly what I think at any given time. I’d rather be straight with someone and risk triggering them, than blowing smoke up their a**.

One thought on “A Great F**king Study

  1. I was reading about that.
    I felt oddly uncomfortable afterward since I was taught to be a lady and part of being a lady was that you couldn’t use expletives.
    Awesome, not only do I have freedom of expression because I’m a ‘lady’ I’m also now known as a likely liar!

    Like

Leave a Reply

