What The Hell Just Happened?

Feb 5, 2017; Houston, TX, USA; New England Patriots quarterback Tom Brady (12) celebrates a two-point conversion against the Atlanta Falcons in the fourth quarter during Super Bowl LI at NRG Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports
Feb 5, 2017; Houston, TX, USA; New England Patriots quarterback Tom Brady (12) celebrates a two-point conversion against the Atlanta Falcons in the fourth quarter during Super Bowl LI at NRG Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports
True to my word, I did not watch one second of last night’s game, even though my second favorite quarterback, Tom Brady, was going for his fifth Super Bowl win. I was receiving updates from Mrs. Earp, and I went to bed early assuming the Patriots were going to lose big.

When I woke up today, Mrs. Earp said, “The Patriots won in overtime.” Eh, what?

The greatest quarterback in NFL history led the biggest Super Bowl comeback to be the MVP on Sunday night.

Tom Brady rallied New England from a 25-point third-quarter deficit for a 34-28 win over the Atlanta Falcons in the first overtime game in Super Bowl history to earn his fifth Super Bowl title and fourth MVP trophy.

Brady threw touchdown passes of 5 and 6 yards in the second half and tied things at 28-28 when he connected with Danny Amendola on a 2-point conversion with 57 seconds left.

He then directed the drive in overtime which ended with a 2-yard run by James White to make the Patriots the first team to win a Super Bowl after trailing by more than 10 points.

Tom Brady is the greatest quarterback in NFL history; and this is coming from a John Elway fanboy. I almost wish I watched the game so I could see the look on NFL Commissioner/Jagoff Roger Goodell’s face when he had to hand the trophy to Brady. His tears must have tasted delicious.

Say what you want about the Patriots, Bill Belichick, and Tom Brady; they know how to win.

9 thoughts on “What The Hell Just Happened?

  1. I gave in and watched. I assumed it was all over at half-time and was working on some snarky remark about the Pats. I agree, say what you will, but the Pats kicked a$$ in the fourth quarter. Parts of it were uglier than Rosie O’Donnell’s butt crack but a W is a W. Coach obviously made course corrections at the half and Brady is the best QB evah!!

    Like

  2. Doc – I know. The Kaepernick garbage, the anti-Trump ads, and the rest of the nonsense the NFL spews anymore was enough for me to boycott them. I like Brady and Danny Amendola, so I’m happy for them without giving ratings to Roger Goodell.

    Like

  3. Ingineer – It’s been my experience that the commissioner of the four major sports is usually hated. That said, I have never seen as much hatred for a man like I have for Goodell. In my opinion, it is deserved.

    Like

Leave a Reply

