Cabin Fever

high-feverI walked into work yesterday, settled into my desk, and sorted through the pile of reports which needed to be assigned. The temperature read 74 in the building, but I was freezing. I was wearing my dress shirt, tie, a pullover sweater, but it wasn’t enough. I was actually shivering and my teeth were chattering.

I put my jacket on and the chattering got worse. I knew what was coming. Cellulitis.

This time, I had no one to blame but myself because I forgot to take my antibiotics yesterday morning. With my freaky body, I usually get cellulitis immediately after missing a dose of amoxicillin . I really should be a test subject for the medical journals.

My sergeant told me to go home, because “I don’t want to hear you chattering all day.” I fought him on it, and we agreed I would leave after four hours: 11am.

By the time I got home, my temperature was running at a dandy 102.3. As of this writing – 7pm – my head still hurts and the cellulitis rash is debilitating. So, if I’m scarce this weekend, it’s because I am literally dying. Leave the flowers and get out.

6 thoughts on “Cabin Fever

  1. That sucks, bro. Praying for your speedy recovery.

    And that’s a fetching shade of nail polish. Do that yourself? 😉

    Like

  2. RG – The fever has subsided, but the rash is excruciating.

    Toothy – I found the pic online, wiseguy. Everyone knows I wear black nail polish.

    Cathy – That’s right, pile on! 🙂

    Like

  3. I thought about telling you not to do anything rash, but that would be in poor taste. Hope you beat the crap out of your ailment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

