I Cannot Tell A Lie; You’re Stupid And Ugly

A Virginia psychotherapist believes we would all be happier if we simply told the truth. Always.

The movement was founded by a sixty-six-year-old Virginia-based psychotherapist named Brad Blanton. He says everybody would be happier if we just stopped lying. Tell the truth, all the time. This would be radical enough — a world without fibs — but Blanton goes further. He says we should toss out the filters between our brains and our mouths. If you think it, say it.

Maybe there’s something to it. Especially for me. I have a lying problem. Mine aren’t big lies. Mine are little lies. White lies. Half-truths. The kind we all tell. But I tell dozens of them every day. Maybe a couple of weeks of truth-immersion therapy would do me good.

The author tried being radically honest, and while he received a few “F**k yous,” he also earned an appreciation of the art form.

Once again, I felt the thrill of inappropriate candor. And I felt something else, too. The paradoxical joy of being free from choice. I had no choice but to tell the truth. I didn’t have to rack my brain figuring out how to hedge it, spin it. (H/TAOSHQ)

As someone who has spent a lifetime telling people what they don’t want to hear, I believe everyone should embrace this policy. I’d go into further detail, but to be radically honest, I don’t feel like posting more, so I’m going to go play World of Tanks.

5 thoughts on “I Cannot Tell A Lie; You’re Stupid And Ugly

  1. I would no longer be gainfully employed if I resorted to always telling everyone the truth. Especially all the 20 something snowflakes I deal with on a daily basis. I will continue to bite my tongue and take my blood pressure med.

    Like

  2. Hey HilLIARy, you’re an over the hill, fat, ugly lesbian. No wonder your husband boinks anything that breathes.

    Wow, you’re right, I feel much better getting that off my chest.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. When you reach the lovely age of 70 you can get away with fun things like telling people what you really think of them. Looking forward to it.

    Like

  4. Metoo – There are high-ranking supervisors who float by my desk occasionally. Yeah, I’d be fired, too.

    RG – Now you’re talking!

    Cathy – I do that now. I cannot fathom what I’ll be like when I;m older and crankier.

    Mike – All the time, but they do not participate in the program. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

