Re-Re-Retired

Yesterday was Kyle’s last lacrosse game of the season. Both varsity (3-10) and JV (4-8) suffered through a sub-par year, and the final game was a welcome sight for many of the players.

Around midday I was pacing in front of the mailbox, desperately hoping my Zoloft fix would arrive. Sadly, it did not, but a letter from Kyle’s school was delivered, and it was addressed to me. I assumed it was either notice that Kyle was receiving an award… or he was being expelled. Neither was the case.

The letter read, in part:

“According to our records, the documentation checked below is missing from your file. Please return the information to the main office by June 15th, 2017, in order for you to continue your ministry to students of our school.”

Six of the eight boxes were checked. It would have been easier to note the forms that were in my file. Now, I’m no detective, but after twenty-one years coaching high school lacrosse, I am intimately familiar with clearances and their lifespans. Most of the boxes checked involved the archdiocesan training concerning child abuse and reporting. All archdiocesan employees must attend a three-hour training session on the subject, which I completed on March 31, 2016.

The training certification lasts three years

As far as the archdiocese is concerned, I will not have to renew my clearances until 2019 – Kyle’s senior year. Why the high school doesn’t know this is beyond me. The other concern was my criminal record check. Um, I am an active duty police officer. If I had a criminal record, I wouldn’t be employed… well unless I was the District Attorney. In short, the school is punishing me because they lost my clearances.

Oh, and here’s the best part; the archdiocese compels clearances be checked before the start of the season. Our season began in March. If there was a problem with my paperwork, why didn’t the school, the administration, or the athletic director approach me immediately? It is their responsibility to check these items, not mine. If anyone is to blame, it’s the AD.

So, I have effectively been relieved of my duties as a high school lacrosse coach. I cannot return until I retake the class, resubmit my clearance checks, and hand them in to the school. Since the season has ended, I am unemployed until at least next spring. Worse still, I was merely a volunteer. I was not being paid for my time, received no cool coaching swag, and was assistant to the JV coach. Me, a guy with two decades coaching experience and thirty years experience in the sport.

Fired from a volunteer position. Wow, I am one pathetic loser.

While I’d like to continue coaching Kyle, I cannot see a scenario where I would go back to that school. If this is the way they treat their employees, I don’t know why anyone would ever return.

Thanks for bearing with me. I promise this will be my last rant post for a while.

**Promises will not be honored.

4 thoughts on “Re-Re-Retired

  1. Makes me wonder if your records were “losted” when the issue happened with the coach & team leaving without your son behind for an away game.

    Like

  2. Sounds like you pissed off a jerk. If you push it and make them find your records Kyle will pay. I really dislike ass-wipes.

    Like

  3. MelP – I’m usually not a conspiracy guy, but I am still good friends with last year’s coach, and the way Kyle has been treated when I’m not there makes me think the other coach is holding a grudge.

    Cathy – I’m not pushing it. I sent an email to the AD and the school with scanned copies of my clearances, and said I thought is was ridiculous that they “misplaced” my paperwork. But I was pleasant about it.

    Like

  4. What happened to separation of Church and State? The archdiocese sounds like it has the playbook from some inept, incompetent government agency.

    Like

Leave a Reply

