And Then, Depression Set In

Last week I posted the stories about being a big, whiny baby my knee injury and the subsequent MRI. The follow-up appointment was yesterday, and there is both good news and bad news.

The good news is I only waited forty-five minutes before seeing the doctor, as opposed to the two hours last week. At this rate, I’ll be able to see the doc in a timely fashion by… 2022.

The bad news? Well, it’s pretty much what I expected.

The orthopedist came into the room and pulled up my MRI. (I assumed he would have done some show prep beforehand by actually, you know, looking at the MRI first, but hey, what do I know?) He scanned through the images – I have very sexy bones, by the way – stopped at my kneecap, stared at for a few minutes, and gave his diagnosis…

“The arthritis under your patella is worse than I originally thought. Unfortunately, there is not a lot we can do with that, except a knee replacement, and you’re too young for that…” I kind of spaced out after that, but I picked up a few phrases along the way.

“No jogging or running… walk on a high school track… ice when necessary…” The appointment ended with classic bedside manor; in this case, the doctor basically told me to rub some dirt on it, and when the pain becomes unbearable, come in for a cortisone shot. Thank you, that’ll be $25.00.

So my initial guess was spot-on. The arthritis is bad, and there is nothing they can do for me. In the meantime, my knee still hurts, but at least I can take the full length knee brace off now. Hooray. :/

OH YEAH: Speaking of depression, I had my mental illness appointment last week, too. While I am still obviously batshit insane, the psychiatrist dropped my meds from 75mg a day to 50mg. She hopes to have me being totally off them in September.

11 thoughts on “And Then, Depression Set In

  1. Bummer for you… there’s always the “Second Opinion” road. Every single person I know who has had a knee replacement has been fantastically overjoyed at the results. What does age have to do with anything when it comes to something that you need to have done?

    Like

  2. I had my knee scoped at 34 and was told it needed replaced at that time but that I was much too young and had to wait until I turned 50. By the time I hit 50, I would spend part of the night in bed, part of the night in a chair and a lot of the night moaning and groaning (and not in a good way). Got the first knee replacement at 50 and the second knee done at 52. The best part is no more pain! I can go on with my life, work, family stuff. I, too, went through the cortisone shots and draining fluid off the knee and then finally they did the shot of synvisc. It bought me a whole year of no cortisone or draining. Please, follow doctor’s orders (I know it’s a pain, pun intended) but you want the best possible outcome when they finally do the replacement. Did he prescribe naproxen or any type of anti-inflammatory to help with pain? Congrats on weaning off the depression meds.

    Like

  3. Toothy – Thanks! *crosses Toothy’s name off “The List.”*

    RG – At this point, I don’t think it’s serious enough for a knee replacement. The cortisone shot worked, but I really thought they could go in there, scrape around, and fix things. I guess that’s why I only play a doctor in the boudoir.

    Metoo – No anti-inflammatory meds, but the worst of it was a week or so ago, so I guess he figured it wasn’t needed. Right now I have a dull, throbbing pain, and I intend to walk a little today to see my tolerance. I have a crazy high threshold for pain, so it shouldn’t be a problem. Probably. 🙂

    Like

  4. Hmmm… suppose you pissed off the local mob, they sent Scarface over and (selectively) knee-capped you, and then you get it repaired? Would that work?

    Like

  5. If the arthritis is under your patella and it’s deemed ” severe ” by the Dr and nothing major was mentioned about your actual knee joint having arthritis then I would find another Ortho Dr my friend because you don’t suggest a total knee replacement to someone based on those findings.

    You basically have two options….go to PT for quad strengthening and a possible custom brace

    Or….get a scalpel, make a small incision on the lateral border of your patella, stuff cotton balls under it and call it a day.. 👍🏻

    Like

  6. Wyatt: Been there–recovered–knees went out in 1995–used low stress exercises–swimming, elliptical, walking, with knee flexion and extension exercises–low weights, many reps, repetitive motions, after pretreatment with anti-inflammatories, and ice afterwards. Now can walk 18 holes of golf without difficulty, spend up to three hours walking on the treadmill at 3.7-4.0 mph, with no problem…avoid stairs, listen to your body…I have a few other little tricks, feel free to give me an email and I’ll share.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Sorry to hear that you are getting old like the rest of us. But it beats the alternative. And nice Stripes reference. One of my favorite quotable movies, so anytime you can work in a line that is a bonus.

    Like

Leave a Reply

